The wonderful uses of Sudocrem

6 Sep

Like most mums, I heart Sudocrem. It’s fantastic for sore bums, especially during teething! But, this post is not only for mums! You can be using it too! Even you, Noura šŸ˜› I wouldn’t lie!

What exactly can you use Sudocrem for?

Well, I’ll tell you what I’ve tried and tested.

Burns- I once burnt my finger, it blistered pretty badly and looked real nasty. I applied a thin layer and a bandaid and next morning, the blister was right down and didn’t look very red at all.

Acne- I have been quite lucky, I haven’t had much trouble with my skin but Sudocrem is great for covering redness and blemishes.

Infantile eczema- fantastic for those dry patches on the arms and legs that are little ones get.

The general rule with Sudocrem is ‘apply a thin layer’ , ever heard the saying, ‘ a little really goes a long way’, well, when it comes to Sudocrem, you don’t need much!

What does it contain?

Sudocrem contains a number of ingredients and properties, such as:

  • hypoallergenic lanolin, to help provide emollient properties
  • zinc oxide is an astringent which reduces the loss of tissue fluid
  • benzyl benzoate and benzyl cinnamate are amongst the ingredients of Peru Balsam, recognised for its healing properties
  • benzyl alcohol is a weak local anaesthetic which acts to ease localised pain and irritation. It also acts as a disinfectant/antibacterial agent and is responsible for protection against common bacterial contaminants.

This is a cream that should be in EVERYONE’S first aid kit whether you have kids or not! Go get some now!

You can find this in any pharmacy, Boots and our favorite LuLu!

Although mums, be warned, keep out of reach of the kids or you may face something like this ……

8/9/2010 *UPDATE*

Got a reply from a follower on twitter..

Omg the rash on my cheeks is GONE! My face looks perfect thanks to @BabbleQ8‘s advice ;D *dances*

See………Sudocrem IS GREAT!

4 Responses to “The wonderful uses of Sudocrem”

  1. SandySays1 September 7, 2010 at 1:32 am #

    That looks like fantastic stuff!! I wonder if it would ease the itch of the occassional flea bite that eludes my Front-line. Hey, it could even be used in the theater as a fake white beard, as displayed by that gorgeous, radiant pup (I mean child)!!!
    Sandy
    http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

    • babbleq8 September 7, 2010 at 9:48 am #

      LOL.. the above commenter’s blog is about a dog…just incase anyone wondered re the ‘front-line’ statement lol

  2. Snow September 7, 2010 at 7:23 am #

    I totally agree!! When I had my 2nd daughter, she has eczema, so I put it on half her face at a time, worked like a charm! I love the stuff!

    • babbleq8 September 7, 2010 at 10:26 am #

      Isn’t it fantastic!
      I swear by it! For anything!

Leave a Reply

