Fancy something different for dinner?

7 Sep

Gratin Dauphinois – What’s that you might say?

This is so often served in restaturants as a yucky looking gooey sludge that seems to have hung around too long. But! Home-made, straight from the oven,is truly one of the great classics.

So, how do I make it? Well.. here’s what you need!

5 fl oz (150 ml) cream – Double Cream works best

1 lb (450 g) potatoes

1 onion

1 clove of garlic

50g grated cheese

1 ounce of butter

You will also need an 8½ inch (21 cm) oval, shallow gratin dish, well buttered.

First, peel the potatoes and slice them very, very thinly (this is really important! Don’t slice them thick!), then plunge the potato slices into a bowl of cold water and swill them round and round to get rid of some of the starch. Now dry them very thoroughly in a clean tea cloth. Then in the gratin dish arrange a layer of potato slices, a sprinkling of crushed garlic, pepper and salt and then another layer of potatoes and seasoning.

You can either pre-cook the onion by frying it, or you can be lazy like me and stick it in the microwave for 30seconds. Now mix the cream,milk, onion and garlic together, pour it over the potatoes, sprinkle with a little freshly grated cheddar cheese, then add the butter in flecks over the surface and bake on the highest shelf in the oven for 1½ hours.

If you follow these instructions, you should end up with something that looks like this

Now, what do you serve it with? Well, personally, I always go for Steak or Fish.

It’s beautiful with either.

I normally serve a side dish of Green beans, sweetcorn or carrot and parsnip.

You can cook anything with this. It’s a dish that tastes as good as it looks!



8 Responses to “Fancy something different for dinner?”

  1. Sumaiah September 7, 2010 at 4:40 pm #

    Yummy! We didn’t have any fo6oor today I’m hungry 😦
    I’m making molten, care for some!:p

    • babbleq8 September 8, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

      You didn’t have fa6oor? WHY? Where you not fasting or you just decided to prolong your fast? LOL That was a bit silly!
      EAT IF YOU ARE HUNGRY 😛

  2. dailymail1 September 7, 2010 at 6:45 pm #

    What happens if your maid breaks your best gratin dauphinois dish?

    • babbleq8 September 8, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

      You take it from her salary. That’s what I do but only because mine breaks something every other day………………butter fingers.

  3. her September 7, 2010 at 10:53 pm #

    uh…love potatos! btw I liked the ‘gravity’ song ^_^

    • babbleq8 September 8, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

      Yes and these are so different! Fantastic flavour, I could eat them 5 nights a week if not 7 but that would be super unhealthy!
      I love that song, it’s got such beautiful lyrics…

  4. Sumaiah September 8, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

    I was fasting but mom didn’t make anything that I like, I’m extremely picky! And I woke up really late so I couldn’t make me food:(
    Then again, I could’ve made me a sandwich! Well too late for that now!:p

    • babbleq8 September 8, 2010 at 5:11 pm #

      LOL… I think I would have eaten my fingers after not eating all day…

Leave a Reply

