Thanks, SubwayMum!

2 Nov

Thanks to SubwayMum I got some very useful information this morning!

So, we all know, I’ve started my diet AND yes, I’m taking Lipo 6 which by the way is going ok. I have loads of energy, no sick feeling, no headaches and inshallah it will stay that way.

I was thinking of getting a treadmill, went last night, looked around and just didn’t see any that I liked. Nasser Sports in Salmiya had two. One was priced at 148 and the other 98. They looked quite bulky but the run strip just didn’t seem wide enough. Hubby tried them and agreed. We decided we would wait and check out the Sport’s shops up near Qurain. Anyway, this morning Subwaymum said, ‘why a treadmill? why not get a elliptical cross trainer? Treadmills are terrible for your knees! I had always assumed that a treadmill was best, nothing can shift fat like a good run. But, after some research I am wrong.

A quick comparison:

When you compare treadmills to elliptical trainers, you can’t help but notice that the elliptical trainer offers an impact-free workout. With the elliptical, there is no impact on the ground, which may appeal to people who need a gentler workout because of joint problems or pain. The treadmill offers more impact, which helps strengthen the bones.

One obvious point that is in favor of treadmills is that it provides a better training experience for a dedicated runner/jogger than an elliptical trainer. If you are training for a marathon or even a 10k, and you don’t want to go outdoors too often during the colder months, you are certainly better off with a quality treadmill.

That being said, if you are looking for a quality cardiovascular workout with the maximum amount of efficiency, the elliptical is an excellent choice. Most elliptical trainers give you a total body workout if you have dual action handlebars for your arms and foot pedals for your legs, whereas treadmills focus more on your lower body as they simulate the jogging experience.

So, there you have it…the cross trainer seems like a better choice.

Thanks, Subwaymom, you saved me my knees and a whole load of cash since the cross trainers are much cheaper too!

9 Responses to “Thanks, SubwayMum!”

  1. Subway Mom November 2, 2010 at 9:08 am #

    Glad I could be of help. You’re super welcome! πŸ™‚ Okay, here’s some additional advice… Which ever elliptical cross-trainer you decide on, try it out then go home and google it to see what some owners have to say about it. I liked my Thane Orbitrek, but it was too noisy for my baby’s sleeping ears. Plus no way could I watch a movie while I was on it, because I’d have to have the TV up sooooo loud the neighbors would come banging on my door!! πŸ˜€
    Good luck with your ‘shopping’ and happy exercising… πŸ™‚ xxx

    • Babble November 2, 2010 at 11:31 am #

      Thanks, will remember that.
      Where to look tho… Nasser Sports don’t have a huge collection and even my hubby isn’t sure where else to find them… Kuwait isn’t BIG on exercise……..lol

      • Subway Mom November 2, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

        I got mine from Thane (right off Maidan Hawally roundabout). You might want to check more specialized sports stores though. I think they might have better quality ones.

      • Babble November 2, 2010 at 6:11 pm #

        Thanks! Will do!! xx

      • Babble November 3, 2010 at 6:35 pm #

        Got one, Nasser Sports. Had my husband try them all, you are definitely right about the noise…one of them was so loud…would have driven me mad…

  2. Treadmill Comparisons November 2, 2010 at 7:07 pm #

    I like the video (especially the music:0))

  3. buzfairy November 2, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

    I’m starting my diet tomorrow inshalla along with plans of exercising in Flex.

    I used to jog in the old days, indoors and out. It was an amazing experience, and you lose weight and get body definition in a very satisfactory matter.

    Of course, I started getting lazy and got fatter. And so now when I go to the gym, i don’t jog anymore… I just swim laps, and do the elliptical on the days where i’m bored with swimming.

    Good luck with ur diet and workout.. I’m gona wish u and me a huge success inshalla πŸ™‚

    • Babble November 3, 2010 at 6:37 pm #

      Aww inshallah hun… I hope so too! Where do you swim? xx

      • buzfairy November 4, 2010 at 1:02 am #

        I go to Flex in she3eb. I’m not that impressed with them that much these, coz they sure have gone down since i first joined when they opened back in 01-02… But, it’s still the closest to my home, with very minimal traffic πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

