Playpens are us!

7 Nov

So, we have passed the stage of sitting in our walker, we now want to sit and play and/or attempt to crawl…problem is, all my floors are marble and well, we’ve already had one bump to the head and I don’t fancy my little one having another so, I’m looking for a playpen! At least, if he wants to crawl about in there, he isn’t going to bang his head!

I looked in mothercare but they seemed to have only a couple! I want a nice bright one, one that doesn’t resemble a cage…

Something similiar to this

not this

So, other than Mothercare, WHERE in Kuwait can I find one? And please, don’t go telling me those cheap, crappy stores at the side of the road that sells kids stuff that’s been made in india that’s gonna fall apart and/or hurt my kid… I want something that’s been safety approved in the states/uk.

6 Responses to “Playpens are us!”

  1. Subway Mom November 7, 2010 at 12:18 pm #

    Did you try Centerpoint?! A friend had one that was nice and big not the portable crib size. But you’re not gonna find one as nice as the one you have a pic off. That was my dream playpen… but carrying a playpen back for the States is not as easy as carrying a baby gym! 😀

    • Babble November 7, 2010 at 5:05 pm #

      I tried centrepoint, they were all fugly and looked like animal cages …. haram to put him in there lol. Am gonna try babies r us in 360 xx

  2. Jennifer Woodbeck November 7, 2010 at 1:27 pm #

    I don’t know how far places like Walmart ship to but you can try there. I understand your concerned about bumps and safety but the falling down stage passes quickly and I believe they have to learn from their bumps and bruises, especially boy.;). Consider skipping the idea and let your son learn to crawl on a hard surface that has better balance and allows him to see further than 2 feet.
    Cheers and Happy Parenting.

  3. Subway Mom November 7, 2010 at 6:16 pm #

    What I used was more of a ‘cage’ style.. but we loved it! 😀 We actually called it “fencing the kids”.. like in a zoo! 😀

    http://www.amazon.com/Friendly-Toys-Little-Playzone-Sounds/dp/B00021NX9C/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1289153589&sr=8-2

    The best part was that we can expand it as much as we want. We have 2 sets. And you can buy them from Shankel stores (there are ones in Sharq and Salmiya).

    I like them because they are colorful and as close as you can get to something half-way decent.

    I would’ve suggested skipping the ‘caging’ stage, but I still use it to get housework done or else Oullie will be literally between my legs as I’m cleaning or cooking!! :O

  4. Subway Mom November 7, 2010 at 6:17 pm #

    Oh, I forgot to mention that we also got HUGE puzzle piece mats (also from Shankel) to put under the fence.

  5. buzfairy November 8, 2010 at 8:34 pm #

    If you happen to go to Mother Care, just make sure you open the box in the store and check the items… A lot of my friends have returned stuff coz of missing items… Plus their return policy is sooo flexible, you can actually use the stuff for weeks, and still get to return them :0

    So just be careful with Mother Care dear 🙂

Leave a Reply

