Ten little things that bother me

8 Nov

My maid bothers me. A lot.

1. She has recently started to pick her nose while talking to me – trying to wind me up? I’m not sure.
2. She sings these gawd awful songs while cleaning and it’s only when she’s cleaning the kitchen – entertaining the cooker?
3. I bought her matching uniforms. She insists on wearing the wrong top with the wrong trousers. Red top + pink trousers – massive no. 4. She smells…all the time. No matter what deodorant I buy her, she smells. I’m actually thinking it’s her natural odour now.
5. No matter how many times I’ve told her, you don’t have to call me ‘madame’, she still does it.
6. She removes things from the bin that I’ve put there – knickers with holes in them. Socks with holes in them. Perfume bottles with a dribble left in them – u name it, she takes it.
7. My son’s name has become something completely different and it sounds like some foreign animal. Please don’t nickname my son.
8. She doesn’t eat. Well, she does bes only pasta EVERYDAY!
9.
10.

I know I said 10 but I couldn’t think of two more. These will be updated in due course.
And before someone starts directing me to ‘rights for domestic workers’… My maid has an ikea bedroom. All my ‘hand me down clothes’ and new things that I’ve bought her, as much food from my cupboards as she wants (even though she only eats pasta-i don’t get it) and is treating like one of our family. She will even be accompanying us over the winter break to the UK!

10 Responses to “Ten little things that bother me”

  1. Joy November 8, 2010 at 9:06 pm #

    @ #7: You should see what our maid calls me. It sounds NOTHING like my name and it’s become an official nickname in the family. *cries*

  2. American Girl November 9, 2010 at 5:28 am #

    I have no doubt you treat your maid with the utmost respect and kindness. I think those who scream ‘abuse of domestic employees’ have probably never been driven insane by one — purposely.

    My former maid started off small — stealing eye drops. EYE DROPS?!?! She could have ASKED for a bottle and I would have gladly picked them up for her. She then moved into makeup theft — a bit more pricey than eyedrops. When I kindly asked her about the ‘misplaced’ makeup, instead of admitting (or even quietly replacing it), she started spraying my most expensive perfume all over my bedding — resulting in me having extreme headaches and sickness. When I asked her not to do this (for a number of reasons), she then started using my expensive hair products to clean the marble floors — though she was provided all the Dettol one person could want!

    I say what about OUR rights?! The ones who are psychologically tortured by our domestic employees because we’re too NICE to raise our voice!

    She eventually stole my $1,200 video camera and was never to be seen again. I’ve been fretting about what videos were on there since that day… ooops.

  3. dailymail1 November 9, 2010 at 2:54 pm #

    Mine ran off to be an ”actress” in Jleeb……mmmmm….

    • American Girl November 9, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

      NOW I know why mine needed the video camera.

      • Babble November 9, 2010 at 8:44 pm #

        Lol. Maids R Us. I think I saw that on the Top Shelf back in the UK DVD Rental Store… More like Maid in Kuwait instead of Maid in Manhattan!

  4. Summer November 9, 2010 at 4:13 pm #

    NUMBER 6!!
    I get annoyed by that so much!
    this is what i do and it really works.
    throw those old stuff in the bathrooms trash can! trust me she wont take it from there. OR rip up the things.. that way she wont take them!

    • Babble November 9, 2010 at 8:43 pm #

      Oh, trust me. She would take anything from the bathroom bin! She’s a proper bin hoker! Lol

  5. BiteApple November 13, 2010 at 12:18 am #

    ha ha! I don’t wanna sound rude but I think your maid is kinda weird. I have a feeling she is Filipino.

    As someone who had dated Filipino women back in the day, I found it strange that 3 out of 5 of these girls had a BO going on most of the time and its stronger when they are “sweaty”.

    None of these girls were maids or waitresses as such but they had well off jobs with one of them being an air stewardess and they are known to be super hygienic and well groomed. But still with or without a deo, she stank like a wet dog once the perfume would wear off.

    • Babble November 13, 2010 at 1:20 am #

      My maid is NOT Filipino. I wish she was.
      Filipinos are joyful and have common sense. Mine has none.

  6. BiteApple November 13, 2010 at 12:21 am #

    By the way, no offense to any fili girls reading this, you girls are still beautiful! 😉

Leave a Reply

