The real reason behind Morning Sickness

19 Nov

Guys, you can skip this post and move on to the next OR you can read it and share your thoughts.

Morning sickness, that dreaded thing that creeps up on your when you are pregnant…if you are lucky you will experience a few weeks at most but unfortunately for me, I had 9 months of it. At one stage it got so severe that I had to go to the hospital.

On average I was vomitting 9 times a day…on one particular day, I recall 15 times.This is a condition called Hyperemesis Gravidarum (severe morning sickness). My obstetrician could give me no reason as to why I was being sick so much. I was prescribed with anti-sickness tablets which I was reluctant to take. It wasn’t pleasant and was quite scary. My throat felt raw, the enamel on my teeth was starting to erode. It was a truly horrible experience and that upset me. Pregnancy is supposed to be one of the best experiences of your life, all I have to say is I was glad to see that delivery room.

It got me thinking this morning, what IS the reason behind it?

Looking back, I had a normal diet, no different than any other pregnancy woman. I craved chocolate and all the other bad things you should crave but I also ate veg, fruit and had a ‘somewhat balanced diet’. I gained around 15kilo during my pregnancy -yes, alot. the average is 10…my baby arrived and was a dainty wee thing. Weighed just over 2kilo and I was full term when I delivered.

My reasoning for this post is …my baby is now lactose intolerant and it has got me thinking. Is that why I was sick so much? At the time, my baby was refusing all the ‘dairy products’ that were going into my body?

Anyone else had similiar experience? Did you eat alot of something and very little of something else? Was there anything particular that made you sick?

I always seemed to vomit after having tomatoes. I cut those out after my first trimester.

It’s an interesting angle to ‘morning sickness’…what if it is caused by a lactose intolerant foetus?

A simple search on google will bring you up thousands of questions:

‘Did you become lactose intolerant during pregnancy?’ – What if the answer is simple, it’s not you that is intolerant, it’s your foetus.

Just a thought to all women out there suffering from morning sickness, try cutting out your dairy products, you might be pleasantly surprised. I wish now I had thought of it. Next pregnancy it will be no dairy for me and calcium supplements!

 

 

2 Responses to “The real reason behind Morning Sickness”

  1. MidwifeofKuwait November 20, 2010 at 12:46 am #

    There are some new theories, let me know if any of these would be revelant to u:
    1.genetic component: maternal genotype (predispozition)
    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/21030362
    2.Presence of H.pylori in GIT system
    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/21079980
    3.Some health conditions:hyperthyroism, hepatic cytolisis with coplay with HCG
    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/20623888

    • Babble November 20, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

      Thanks for the info. On second thoughts, I actually think my baby has acid reflux rather than LI.

Leave a Reply

