As a child, I didn't watch much TV

24 Nov

First of all, I’m a mum. I let my kid watch TV. I don’t see the harm in it. Of course, I would never let him/her  sit in front of the TV all day but, he/she does get 30minutes in the morning and 30minutes in the afternoon.

How do you feel about it?

I have researched alot on this subject and too much television has been linked to ADHD, OCD, Autism. So, what’s your view?

Does it? Is it detrimental to your child? Is it my responsibility to not let my kids watch TV?

I think 30minutes a day does no harm when they are young and when my kids are old enough to go to school, I will reward them with 30minutes TV a day IF and WHEN they finish their homework.

As a child, I didn’t sit and watch TV after school, I went out for walks, rode my bicycle and visited friends houses and played ‘teacher/pupil’ or ‘families’…On a Saturday, I was allowed to watch TV from 8 – 10am and that was it, I was sent outside to play. I’m glad that my parents did raise me that way, even now, I’m not a ‘TV’ person. I rarely sit down to watch anything. I have, of course, my favourites series which I would never miss, but I would never sit down at 5 in front of the TV and spend the night in front of it. That would drive me crazy. Instead, I go out with hubby shopping, go for walks, blog, read a book or listen to music.

Anyway, I’ve kind of gone off what I was talking about, what do you think?

Does TV do more damage than good?

4 Responses to “As a child, I didn't watch much TV”

  1. inquisitorial November 24, 2010 at 9:35 pm #

    I think everything depends what are you watching. The TV itself is not a bad thing(though I almost do not watch TV), especially when it is able to teach kids and provide interesting information.

  2. dailymail1 November 25, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

    One doctor in the US claims his son’s autism was linked to too much TV and when he removed the TV time the autism ”improved”.

  3. Gold Medal Ribbon November 26, 2010 at 12:13 am #

    LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL personally min wana 9i’3era kint edmaaan TV o ma7ad, i am not perfect in English bes ma7ad qawani ela hal TV lana edman kint min wana 9ghera o i am still addict o if its bad or good im gonna say say both feh ilmufeed o feh ilkharab:)

  4. 3ateeja November 27, 2010 at 12:51 am #

    ayam gabel ‘3er el-wa7ed ma y7ati el-paramej kanat 3adia o ma7dooda ma t’9er nafs al-7en o la tnsen ena 3adad el-qanawat zad o a’3lbhom qnwat tjaria so ma yhtmon bel ma’9mom kither ma yehtamon bel reb7 !

    for me: lima my nephews eyon 3ndna 7a6en lihom tv bel 9ala eda5lya mafeha ela taqreban 10 qnwat aw aqal kilhom qanawat cartoon lina yahal 3adi ybdlon bel qnwat o e6e7 3anhom 3ala ay shy o ma3rof ena el-kids bsr3a yt2thron o ythbton el-ma3lomat bras,hom fa sh7ga neffta7 3yonhom 3ala shy ymken y2ther b6folat,hom o bel nesba 7ag el-time ma a7b el-yahal wayed yjablon el-tv awal shy mo zain 7ag el-3en o y3lmhom 3al rbada ma yt7rkon!!

    so a5lehom sa3a taqreban b3den a6fi el-tv rek’9aw 5 marat bel mamar o rou7aw lawnaw aw ay activity thani that’s it & soryy 4 the long long comment :p

Leave a Reply

